Application Briefings Being Held For Communities Damaged By Flooding in April

By Joe Gullo

Published 06/13 2014 12:55PM

Updated 06/13 2014 12:57PM

WATERBURY, Vt. - Application briefings are being held for Caledonia, Essex, Lamoille, Franklin, Orleans, and Washington counties that suffered flooding damage in April. A disaster declaration was signed last week.

A press release says the declaration allows communities and other eligible entities in those counties to receive 75 percent reimbursement for debris removal and repairs to public roads, bridges, and other infrastructure damaged during the storm.

Communities can be reimbursed for equipment rentals (and fuel for that equipment), the cost of contractor assistance, employee overtime tied directly to storm response and restoration, and other eligible expenses.

The Vermont Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security will begin the application process with mandatory applicants’ briefings on June 18, 19, and 20.  

The briefing schedule:

Franklin and Lamoille counties: 10:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. June 18, Johnson State College, 337 College Hill Road, Bentley room 207, Johnson

Essex, Caledonia, Orleans counties: 10a.m. – 12 p.m. June 19, Northeast Vermont Development Center, 36 Eastern Avenue, St. Johnsbury.

Orange and Washington counties: 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. June 20, VT Agency of Transportation Training Center, Room 114B, 1716 US Route 302, Berlin

For more information, contact DEMHS Public Assistance Officer Kim Canarecci at (800)-347-0488.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.