VT's 2015 Principals of the Year Announced

By Joe Gullo

Published 04/17 2014 04:13PM

Updated 04/17 2014 04:24PM

MONTPELIER, Vt. - The Vermont Principals' Association (VPA) announced their nominations for the 2015 Principals of the Year. 

A press release says principal nominations were sent to the VPA by peers and the public. A committee of the VPA Executive Council and past award winners selected the seven candidates for their outstanding educational leadership.

The seven nominations for this year are: 
  • William Olsen, Principal of Rutland High School, has been chosen as the MetLife/National Association of Secondary Schools High School Principal of the Year; 
  • Rosemary Fitzsimons, Principal of Wardsboro Elementary School, is the winner of the Henry Giaguque Vermont Elementary Principal of the Year;
  • William Anton, Principal of Dover Elementary School, is the winner of the National Distinguished Principal Award from the National Association of Elementary School Principals; 
  • Dean Stearns, Director of the River Bend Career and Technical Center in Bradford is named as the 2015 Vermont Technical Director of the Year;
  • Georgie Andrews, Assistant Principal of the St. Albans City School is the winner of the Vermont Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year;
  • Ryan Parkman, Principal of Northfield High School  is the selection for the Robert F. Pierce Vermont Secondary Principal of the Year;
  • Steve Cone, Assistant Principal of Riverside Middle School in Springfield is the winner of the National Association of Secondary Principals and Virco Assistant Principal of the Year from Vermont. 
All of the principals will be honored in August at Killington's Grand Hotel. 

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.