- Slow down
- Allow other drivers to merge ahead of you when their lane is ending
- Pay attention to signs
- Stay off your cellphone, a state law in Vermont work zones
"If you're going 65 in a 50 zone, you're looking at a $300 fine and points on your license," says Vermont State Police Lt. Garry Scott.
Construction worker Mike Delaney has seen countless close calls during his 30 year career.
"All it takes is one car not to slow down and come into a work site and injure a person," says Delaney.
In order for everyone to stay safe, Delaney agrees he and his workers have to do their part. He says they wear brightly colored vests and helmets so they're easily seen. This gear is also an OSHA requirement.
-Vermont's full list of OSHA's work zone dos and don'ts.
-New York's full list.
Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.