MILTON, Vt. - For Vermonters looking to buy some fireworks this summer, law enforcement wants to make sure you don't get fined.
Under Vermont state law, it's illegal to use, sell or possess fireworks without a permit.
Local 22 & Local 44 checked out a pop-up store in Milton on what you can buy without a permit.
"Without a permit, you're really only allowed to have sparklers and snakes and snaps, and sparklers only up to 20 inches. Anything beyond that, pretty much if it has a fuse, you need a permit for," said Matthew Lavigne, Green Mountain Fireworks.
Milton Police say the store is in full compliance with the law, but the department has seen four times more complaints against firework users compared to this time last year.
"Once the fireworks leave his store, it's not really his responsibility. It's on the people that have them. And I think they just assume that since they can buy them, they can go use them," said Cpl. Jason Porter.
You have to apply for a permit with your local municipality at least 15 days before you plan on getting fireworks.
Both police and fire departments have to sign off.
You'll also have to notify police/fire up to 30 minutes to an hour before setting them off.
If you're caught breaking the law, police say you could face a $100 fine, or up to 30 days in jail.
"When was the last time you went to a Target?" "I was in college so…
Good news for shoppers.
Waiting to get answers for college applications can be daunting and…